A much-needed update!

October 21, 2008 at 10:21 pm Leave a comment

Well, it’s certainly about time I posted a new update, don’t you say?!

I’ve been in Glasgow now with Anza and Malcolm for the past 5 days, and spent 3 in Aberdeen prior to that with Carol, Bernie and the two oldies as well. It’s been a lot of fun and I still have two days left so there’s still plenty to see. It’s been nice to visit the houses where Dad was born and grew up, as well as those of Grandma and Grandbert, and to hear some of the background and history of the family – I’ve found it very interesting! I’ve also had the pleasure of a very willing driver, so I’ve seen some great places! We’ve visited Ayrshire (Robert Burns’ place, Culzean Castle, etc), Drymen and Loch Lomond (from one end to the other, no less…) Lanark and the Falls of the Clyde, and the aforementioned tours of the family haunts.

There are plenty of photos in my flickr, unfortunately they’re all a bit awkward to post here due to their proportions etc… Check them out at http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewleitch

Before I came down here I spent a couple of weeks after Oktoberfest (interesting experience, that one..) back at the hotel at Corgarff, basically doing nothing. However, I got my first snow of the European trip there, so that’s worth noting – there’s a photo of it on flickr :p

It’s steadily been getting colder and colder (and wetter and wetter here in Glasgow), and I’m really finding myself having to start to rug up to go outside – it’s only autumn… Winter will surely be an experience!

Also worthy of note is that a week from today Alli will finally be joining me in London (after I spend the weekend with Uncle Tim..) to start the next chapter of the trip, and I really can’t wait. It’s been a really tough and trying 3 and a half months apart, but I’m happy to be able to say that we’ve just about made it and we’ll soon be able to enjoy each other’s company again. Talking on the phone or over Skype really isn’t any kind of satisfactory alternative to face to face contact, so I’m really excited to finally see her again!

Well, this update is really just that – bringing the blog up to date – so forgive me if it’s a bit disjointed and rambling. I’ll try to keep posting more regularly now and Alli and I will have plenty of photos and stories to share soon enough.

Stay well,

Andrew

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Salzburg, Austria.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos